I might have to put off the trip to Federal Twist, however, June has brought the opportunity to take a road trip upstate to the Catskill area, where my photographer friend Jadzia is tending The JetStar Garden, next to a church converted into an impressive art space. The occasion was a celebration of the summer solstice, of Juneteenth, and of Jadzia's forty years in this country. I loved how many edible plants I have not seen before in real life Jadzia planted and cared for in a truly magical space. She used this party as an opportunity to bring together the Jersey City and upstate friends she cultivated along the years. DJ Neva ensured the usual exquisite musical background, and everyone was delighted to see each other again in person. All in all, I had a fantastic time, with fascinating. talented, and welcoming people.
I have to say, I am increasingly impressed with my plant ID app of choice, called Picture This. It helped me ID the plants above: paw-paw and Carolina allspice, both of which I have never seen before.